Professor Erica Simmons awarded 2023-2024 H.I. Romnes Faculty Fellowship

By Natasha Kassulke,

Thirty-five of the University of Wisconsin–Madison faculty have been awarded fellowships from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education for 2023-24. The awardees span the four divisions on campus: arts and humanities, physical sciences, social sciences and biological sciences.

“These awards recognize our faculty research, academic and outreach successes and provide an opportunity for continued development of their outstanding research programs,” says Steve Ackerman, vice chancellor for research and graduate education. “I’m grateful that we are able to recognize invest in these faculty in this way, and I look forward to seeing the results of their imaginative use of these funds.”

The awards are possible due to the research efforts of UW–Madison faculty and staff. Technology that arises from these efforts is licensed by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation and the income from successful licenses is returned to the OVCRGE, where it’s used to fund research activities and awards throughout the divisions on campus.


Eighteen faculty have been honored with the H.I. Romnes Fellowships to recognize faculty with exceptional research contributions within their first six years from promotion to a tenured position. The award is named in recognition of the late WARF trustees president H.I. Romnes and comes with $60,000 that may be spent over five years.

Erica A Simmons photo Erica S. Simmons, associate professor of political science and international studies, also holds the Political Science Department Board of Visitors Professorship. Simmons’s work is motivated by an interest in social mobilization, natural resource politics and qualitative methods. Her books and articles have been recognized by numerous awards in both political science and sociology. She has also received the UW–Madison’s William Kiekofer Distinguished Teaching Award. She currently serves as faculty director of the International Studies Major and chair of the Distinguished Teaching Awards committee at the UW–Madison.



Congratulations to our very own, Professor Erica Simmons!